President Mia Theocharis (2020 – 2022)

Mia is a second year PhD student in Theological Studies at St. Michael’s College. Her area of research is historical theology, specifically Jewish-Christian relations. Her research focuses on the 19th to 21st century with special attention to the Holocaust. She is interested in the encounter between Judaism and Christianity (particularly Catholicism) within the context of the Second World War (before and after); considering especially the history of Christian anti-Judaism.

Outside of academia, Mia enjoys travelling, the Boston Bruins and spending time with family and friends.

Treasurer – Hannah Scanlon (2020 – 2022)

Hannah is a second year PhD student in Theological Studies at Wycliffe College. Her research centers on theological ethics pertaining to the natural world from a Reformed lens. Questions she hopes to explore are: what does the Reformed tradition have to say about God’s action in the natural world, given the problem of evil, human freedom, human rights and responsibilities, and the status of Creation before God? What might the current Anthropocene (this present, geographic age in which human animals have greater impact on the natural world more than any other historic age) have to say to our Church? And how might the Word of God, revealed in Jesus Christ present particular and specific duties to the Church to care for Creation? She hopes to see how reflection on the sacraments and liturgy might illuminate these questions.

She is also a Candidate for Ministry of Word and Sacrament in the PCUSA (Presbyterian Church USA). She holds a BA in Philosophy and an MDiv. Some of her favorite activities include running in the woods, reading anything by Wendell Berry and listening to the Weepies. 

Vice President Academic – Michael Rogers, S.J. (2019 – 2021)

Fr. Michael Rogers, S.J. graduated from the College of the  Holy Cross in 2002 and entered the Jesuits in August of the same year. Michael has a master’s degree in philosophy from Saint Louis University as well as an S.T.B. and an S.T.L. from Pontifical Gregorian University in Rome. Michael spent three years teaching theology and coaching tennis at Boston College High School from 2010-2012 and served as the coordinator for the Jesuits in the United States for World Youth Day in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in 2013.  He also worked on the pastoral staff, hearing confessions and saying mass, at the Church of the Gesú, the mother church of the Jesuits in Rome, from 2013 – 2015.  In addition to his work in ministry and education, he has written both for America Magazine and the Huffington Post along with being an occasional commentator for Vatican Radio, Euronews, the Catholic News Service, and the Canadian Broadcasting Company.  From 2015-2018 he was a fellow at the McFarland Center for Religion Ethics and Culture at the College of the Holy Cross. He is currently a PhD Student at Regis College where he looks into all of the peculiarly Catholic forms of piety. He is the proud parent of several succulent plants.

Vice President External – Samuel Needham (2019-2021)

Sam is a third-year PhD student in systematic theology at Emmanuel College. He is working on theologies of identity, especially the self-understanding of the Church and Church’s understanding of the world. He focuses on the liberal Christian tradition, especially as developed in the work of Paul Tillich. Sam is from the United States and is married to a Canadian teacher. He is ordained in the United Methodist Church and now works and worships with the United Church of Canada.

As VP External and Social Chair, Sam is happy to field your questions about life at TST, how to connect with the community, and your medical/dental/mental health benefits and plans.

Vice President Conferences – Nathan Bradford Williams (2020-2022)

Nathan is a second year doctoral student at St. Michael’s College. His area of research is theological aesthetics and its implications for the Roman Catholic/Eastern Orthodox ecumenical dialogue. He is originally from Virginia and has previously studied at the University of Notre Dame and Boston College.

Program Representatives

Theology – Samuel Needham (2019-2021)

Contextual – Maureen Ononiwu (2019-2021)

Master of Theology – Josefine Leventhal-Noble (2020-2022)

Master of Arts – Jordyn Tower (2020-2021)

Doctor of Ministry – Vacant

College Representatives

Emmanuel – Jordan Balint (2019-2021)

Knox – Deborah Lee (2020-2022)

Regis – James DeGurse (2020-2022)

St. Michael’s – Gustave Ineza (2020-2022)

Trinity – Andrew Youssef (2020-2022)

Wycliffe – Hannah Scanlon (2020-2022)

Non-Voting Officers and Guests
Secretary – Vacant
Returning Officer – Vacant
UTSU Director – Vacant
ICS Delegate – Vacant
Advocacy Officer – Vacant
Social Chair – Samuel Needham
Chief Returning Officer for the 2020 Elections –Fiona Li