## **Current ADSA Constitution – Section 4**

- 4.1 The ADSA Board is the governing body of the ADSA.
- 4.2 The ADSA Board may consist of no more than nineteen voting members, as follows:
  - 4.2.1 Six Executives are elected by ADSA: a President, Vice-President External, Vice-President Academic, Vice-President Conferences, Treasurer, and Secretary.
  - 4.2.2 To ensure representation during this transitional period, four representatives are elected by ADSA from the Biblical, Historical, Pastoral, and Theological Departments; one from the Master of Arts or Master of Theology program; and one from the Doctor of Ministry program.
  - 4.2.3 Six<sup>1</sup> representatives are elected by the member colleges, one from each college having advanced degree students.
  - 4.2.4 One representative is elected by ADSA to sit on the Library Committee.<sup>2</sup>
- 4.3 One Vice-President Internal<sup>3</sup> is appointed to the Executive from the ADSA Board.
- 4.4 An individual may serve a maximum of two years in any one position.
- 4.5 The responsibilities and duties of each Board member are defined in the policies and procedures.
- 4.6 Executive positions that are left or become vacant between elections must be filled by appointment of Board members, with the condition that no individual may hold more than one Executive position.
- 4.7 Other positions that are left or become vacant between elections may be filled by appointment of students (including Board members) from the college, department<sup>5</sup>, or program to be represented, with the consent of the ADSA Board.
- 4.8 Quorum will be achieved with the attendance of a majority of the sitting members of the ADSA Board at any time.
- Remove numbers so the size of the Board can vary as the number of TST programs and/or colleges changes.
- <sup>2</sup> Remove last reference to a specific TST committee, allowing the Board to choose the Library committee representative.
- Remove unnecessary Vice-President. The Policies will specify that the Board can appoint additional executive committee members.

## **Proposed TGSA Constitution – Section 4**

- 4.1 The **TGSA**<sup>4</sup> Board is the governing body of the TGSA.
- 4.2 The voting members of the TGSA Board are as follows:
  - 4.2.1 Executives elected by and from the TGSA: a President, Treasurer, Vice-President Academic, Vice-President Conferences, and Vice-President External.
  - 4.2.2 Program representatives elected by the TGSA, one from each distinct concentration within TST's doctoral research programs and one from each of TST's other programs with graduate students.<sup>5</sup>
  - 4.2.3 College representatives elected by the colleges, one from each TST member college with graduate students.
- 4.3 A **Secretary**<sup>6</sup> is appointed by the TGSA Board.
- 4.4 A student may serve a maximum of two years in any one position.
- 4.5 The responsibilities and duties of each Board member are defined in the Policies and Procedures.
- 4.6 Executive positions that are left or become vacant between elections must be filled by appointment of Board members, with the condition that no member may hold more than one Executive position.
- 4.7 Other positions that are left or become vacant between elections may be filled by appointment of students (including Board members) from the college or program to be represented, with the consent of the TGSA Board.
- 4.8 Quorum requires the attendance of a majority of the sitting members of the TGSA Board.

6 Have the Secretary appointed instead of elected.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Reflect name change to Toronto School of Theology Graduate Students' Association.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Remove references to specific departments and programs so the number of program representatives is equal to the number of distinct doctoral research concentrations (areas of study/fields/departments) plus the number of other programs.